//
you're reading...
My Standard Based Grading

Why Standards Based Grading

I am moving towards introducing standards based grading for my HS Physics class next school year (2012-2013).  Standards based grading (SBG) is something I have been partially aware of for a while and been thinking of introducing it ever since I heard about it.

I thought I would try and put down in writing why SBG resonates with me.

  • I dislike ‘busy work’. By busy work I mean any seat work / home work such as doing worksheets, problems from the textbooks etc whenever the students don’t have a ready answer as to why they are doing it. I have too many bad memories from my own past (even though it is a lot further in the past for me than for many others) where I had no sense of reason why I was doing the particular exercise other than keeping myself out of mischief with the particular teacher. I was often consumed by the mechanics of getting the work over and done as soon as I could, finding short cuts and other things to think about while I was doing the stuff. I think it was because the mechanics of doing this sort of work so pained me that it took me ~30 years after graduating HS to venture back into the HS classroom.
  • I have a deep feeling of injustice against the one and done testing regimes that is found in many classrooms. Don’t get me wrong, I teach AP Physics and I have a great deal of respect for an externally assessed exam following a curriculum that was put together by educators that have much greater experience in both the subject and education than the average teacher in the classroom. I think this sort of high stakes summative assessment has a very important place in a learner’s educational experience. But that place is where the group size numbers in the thousands. In the average classroom there must be greater discernment, a greater allowance for difference. The possibility of failing and falling forward and picking yourself up figuring out what went wrong and what you can do about it.
  • Finally (for this blog anyway) I think we need to take the concept of multiple intelligences ever more seriously – not only for learning but also for assessment. Too many times I have got the feeling that my written test is not really assessing my stated content (my carefully crafted learning outcomes) but its assessing the ability of my students to ‘game’ a particular type of test. Not only do I have to give my students lots of different ways to construct their learning they must be given multiple ways to demonstrate their learning.

The Racing Tortoise

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

